Are Indian tribes eligible to receive Safe Routes to School funding?

Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) has determined that federally recognized tribes are eligible sub-recipients of the state-administered Safe Routes to School program. FHWA believes that the list of eligible sub-recipients listed in statute, Section 1404 (e) of SAFETEA-LU, is illustrative for purposes of tribal eligibility. Thus, tribes may be eligible sub-recipients, even though the tribes are not expressly listed.

For more information, visit the federal SRTS guidance.

Explore other program tools: