Child Pedestrian Safety Curriculum Teachers Guide

The Child Pedestrian Safety Curriculum, developed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, teaches and encourages pedestrian safety for students grades Kindergarten through 5th Grade. It is organized into five lessons: walking near traffic, crossing streets, crossing intersections, parking lot safety, and school bus safety. Each lesson builds upon previous set of skills learned.

All grades receive instruction in the five areas of pedestrian safety mentioned above. However, to promote developmentally appropriate teaching, the curriculum includes three divisions: kindergarten and first grade, second and third grade, and fourth and fifth grade. The lessons build in difficulty throughout subsequent years, require greater problem-solving opportunities, and encourage peer modeling and discussion.

The overall goal of the Child Pedestrian Safety Curriculum is one of skill development. While children may be aware of ways to stay safe as pedestrians, the purpose of this program is to help children develop that knowledge into an automatic response in behavior.

Learn more on NHTSA's website:

Authoring Organization: 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Resource File: 
Publication Year: